To live in the moment

I remember in college during my photography class our teacher asked us for an example of an experience where we really felt ‘in the moment.’ I wasn’t really sure what this meant. The only thing I could think of were a string of concerts I had been to. It is two years later and I realise there really was truth behind my answer. A concert creates a vibe where suddenly a group of strangers become connected by a common interest. By connected I don’t mean what we have now been accustomed to as social media, but I mean a real connection person to person. What I imagine the world was like before phones or internet. It’s in this moment that I feel alive, at least I think that’s the best way to explain it.

IMG_20140523_223438_452_1
Boy & Bear with Patrick James
Snapchat-20140523090648_3
Patrick James and his band

The other night I saw Boy & Bear for the first time. Patrick James was the opening act and I’d seen him previously so I already knew it was going to be a great gig. They were amazing not only in their talent but in the vibe they created. They laughed, joked and drank. My favourite thing about the concert was that it was real, it wasn’t a huge production it was what it was. Real talent and a great night!

 

 

 

Leave a comment